Overcoming bad hair days

September 14, 2006

poodles-miniature.jpg

This might sound a bit drastic, but my favorite solution for a bad hair day is to go and get a hair cut.  My hair always reaches a point where no matter how long I spend on it and how much stuff I put in it, I just can’t stand it for one more minute.  Having a great hairdresser that you can trust is a rare jewel – but what happens when you move?  It’s traumatic.

Now that I live in London, it took ages to find a solution to my penchant for hair cuts, because good salons are really expensive.  Fortunately, Vidal Sassoon runs a series of hair academies, and they are always on the look-out for willing heads for their students to practise on.  If you are a student, or have a coupon which they publish in the free daily metro paper, a cut only costs 5 pounds.

The whole process can take a long time (yesterday I was there for three hours), but the instructors are always on hand to make sure that you don’t look like you just tangled with a vicious hedge trimmer, and the students that I’ve had so far are all pretty good.

I find the cutting part a little stressful, but I love the hairwashing and scalp massage, and oddly enough I find the blowdrying part really soothing – perhaps I was a poodle in a previous existance?

2 Responses to “Overcoming bad hair days”

  1. Holly Says:

    bicyclefish.wordprees.com/…/


  2. Great post. this is what I looking for, thanks


Leave a Reply

